Buxar town is the headquarter of the district and also its principal town.Buxar district consist of 2 Sub-division and 11 Blocks. Of the 11 Blocks, 7 are in Dumraon Sub-division while 4 in Buxar Sadar Sub-division. A town is located each in Buxar and Dumraon Sub-division. All the blocks and the towns of the district are distributed within the Sub-division as below:-

Sub-Division Name Block Name
Buxar Buxar
Buxar Itarhi
Buxar Chausa
Buxar Rajpur
Dumraon Dumraon
Dumraon Nawanagar
Dumraon Brahampur
Dumraon Kesath
Dumraon Chakki
Dumraon Chougain
Dumraon Simri